50 Shades of… you know the rest

I am a lifelong reader, lover of books.  I believe the first book ever recommended to me was Little Women by Louisa May Alcott.  One of my aunts told me I should read it when I was about 8 or 9.  She gave me her well worn copy and I read it and re-read it and re-read it.  If you haven’t read it, what the hell are you waiting for?  It was awesome.  Still love it to this day.

The next book that I remember someone begging me to read was Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice.  It was my sophomore or junior year in highschool and my goth-ish friend Samantha used to doodle on my folders, “Read Interview with the Vampire” and “I AM the Queen of the Damned”.  At the time, my tastes ran more to romance novels and so I didn’t heed her advice.  Until the summer of my freshman year of college.  I was nursing my first broken heart and was weary of all things love and romance.  At the beach, I picked up a used copy of Interview and just devoured it. Ms Rice is by far my favorite author and I just adore her works.  Pick up Wolf Gift when you get a chance.  It is awesome.

More recently, my mom kept suggesting I read the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling.  I just nodded and blew it off.  Wasn’t that for kids?  Young Adults at the oldest?  Pooey.  What does MOM know anyway?  Haha.  Then Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight saga came out and was all the rage.  I resisted.  Wasn’t that just a vampire version of Harry Potter?  Or something like that?  Well, dear, wise Mom bought me the first two Twilight books for Christmas the year the twins were born.  I tore through them like they were, I dunno,  magazines covered in chocolate and crack.  Seriously, I was addicted.  A Twi-Hard fo’ Life.  I remember staying up until 4 am reading Breaking Dawn, knowing full well my twin one-year-olds would be waking up within a mere hour.  So, after I finished those, I finally took Mom up on her offer to borrow the Harry Potter books.  I read all seven before Spring had sprung.  I seriously love J.K. Rowling.  Her imagination has no (or very few) rivals.  Please read either or both of these series.  Especially Harry Potter.  Read them to your kids.  They are awesome.

Last year my sister in law, whom I didn’t know was a big reader, recommended The Help by Kathryn Stockett.  She didn’t recommend it so much as brought me her copy and said, “Scroogy, ya gotta read this.”  And I read it in a day and a half.  It was that awesome. Read it.

So, now, I finally drank the kool-aid and picked up 50 Shades of Grey by E.L. James.  My Bestie threatened to suspend our friendship unless I read it.  The last book she was adamant about was Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness.  Bestie was right, you know what I’m gonna say.  It was awesome.  So, I’m expecting 50 Shades to live up to the hype.

I’ll let you know how awesome it is another day…

Leave a Reply

