Zen Scroogy

One part of my Mojo Journey that I haven’t touched on much is the exploration of my faith and the enrichment of my soul.  Who am I kidding?  I talk about it all the time…  Yes, it is important to get a healthy spirit along with a healthy body.

I thought I’d use my 45th blog post (what?what?) to list some nuggets of wisdom that are helping me feel more Zen:

1. I heard this on Oprah: “Holding onto anger is like drinking poison and expecting the other person to die.”  Wow.  How very true.  Letting go of resentments is super difficult, but considerably easier than the alternative.  Easier than letting those thoughts fester and take root in your heart and invade your outlook on life and blind you to joyful moments.

2.  “All you need is love.”  Love me some Beatles.  And no, I’m not an idiot.  Obviously we need food, water, shelter…  there is a hierarchy of needs.  But I truly believe that all personal strife would fall away if we embraced Love.  Deep breath, deep breath.  Stay with me here, Peeps…  Like Whitney sang, the Greatest Love of all is INSIDE of me.  Right.  If one truly takes care of himself, truly values his life and his talents and his potential…the sky is the limit.  Donald Trump has everything he has because he knows he can.  Because he respects his strengths, deals with his weaknesses, believes in his dreams.  Anyone can do this.  Anyone.  All we need is to love ourselves.  And work hard.  Because we are worth all the blood, sweat, tears.

3.  All of that being said, success is relative.  Comparing ourselves to others is worthless and really, spiritually harmful.  Envy is worse for the soul than anger.  From Wikipedia: “Envy (also called invidiousness) is best defined as a resentful emotion that ‘occurs when a person lacks another’s (perceived) superior quality, achievement or possession and wishes that the other lacked it.'”  Think about that.  Sounds just ooky and gross.  So, admire your neighbor’s garden, then go plant your own gardens, my friends…  Reap what YOU sow. Own it.

4. I heard a Buddhist speak about “Changing Poison Into Medicine.”  This is the ultimate “turning lemons into lemonade” idea.  I’ve been thinking A LOT about this ever since.  Here’s a quote from a Buddhist website: “The process of changing poison into medicine begins when we approach difficult experiences as an opportunity to reflect on ourselves and to strengthen and develop our courage and compassion. Suffering can thus serve as a springboard for a deeper experience of happiness.”  I 100% agree and I don’t think I could explain it better.

5.  The best way to have a friend is to be a friend.  Take out the word friend and substitute with almost any other symbiotic relationship and the same statement is true.  The best way to be a writer is to be a reader.  The best way to be a teacher is to be a student.  The best way to be a chef is to be a taster (sorry, couldn’t think of a better word for that…)  In other words, live your truth.  Embrace life.  Submerge yourself in what you do and you’ll be it.

I try to focus on these things almost everyday.  Some times I struggle, but that’s life.  And, life is a highway… I wanna ride it all night long.  (damn.  Happened again.  I hate when random songs interject themselves into my mind.)

Namaste.

Leave a Reply

