For my Mommy

Hi.  Don’t know if you read my blog.  I know your hubby does.  So…  hee hee.  I’m suddenly very nervous thinking about you reading my writing.

I read something on pinterest or Facebook that I wanted to share.  It said, “The only thing better than having you for a mom, is my children having you for a grandma.”  They love you so much, Gamma.  And so do I.  For so many reasons.

I love you because you raised Brother and I pretty much on your own.  I know you and Dad loved one another, but I also know that he wasn’t the most dependable or trustworthy or present fella.  I can’t imagine going through the heartbreak of divorce while putting on a happy face and working with the man that had hurt you to create such a loving and solid co-parenting situation.  Brother and I never felt broken.  We owe that to you.  Thank you.

Thank you for working so hard to provide a nice home in a good neighborhood and food and clothes and just… stuff.  You were doing the work of two parents and you did an amazing job.  Well, at least I turned out pretty good.  Just kidding, Brother.

Thanks for choosing my step fathers wisely.  Bob was only in our lives briefly.  But his impact is still evident everyday- even if its just the mere fact that I stopped saying “ain’t” and calling water “wudder”.  He’s another angel up there on our side and I feel his love and support all the time.  And Jim’s not so bad either.  (wink-wink)  I know he’s reading this.  Haha.  He and I didn’t always get along, but we do now.  And he’s a really great Pop-pop.  The girls adore him.  So do I.

Thanks for your support and your faith and trust when I went away to Salisbury.  Just looking at my girls, I can’t imagine the strength it took you to actually drive away from campus that sunny August day.

Thank you for not freaking out when I came home from college and mentioned, oh so casually, that I was sleeping with my boyfriend.  Haha.  I’ll need you to hold my hand when Lala and Loopsy drop those bombshells on me. Bring wine.

That reminds me!  Thank you for holding my hand when I was in labor.  For continuing to hold my hand and keeping me still when I had my epidural.  And thank you for calmly but firmly passing my hand off to Hubby when it was time to go to the ER.  He doesn’t do well with pain or blood.  He would’ve missed it all if you hadn’t let go.

Gah…  I’m typing this through tears, and snot is dripping down my face.  I could go on and on and on for all that I’m grateful to you for.  For all the reasons I love you.

But I’ll stop here.  Gotta save SOMETHING for next year’s Mother’s Day blog entry!

I love you bigger than the moon.

3 thoughts on “For my Mommy

  1. Thanks for being the great daughter I had always hoped and longed for as well as a great friend. Hope you know how much you mean to me.

  2. Aww, both this post and the comment made by your stepfather brought tears to my eyes. So much love, it is amazing. I hope you and your mother both have a great Mother’s Day tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

