Soundtrack of my life

I wasted a whole lot of time today (when I should’ve been writing my novel) making a playlist on Spotify.

I decided that I needed background music to inspire my creativity.  Yeah, that’s the ticket…

Since Courtney is in college for the first part of the novel, and it’s set back when I was ACTUALLY in college, I spent time researching all my favorite songs from the mid 90s.  I rediscovered my love of R.E.M. and Smashing Pumpkins.  I remembered that obsure-ish band I liked called Fuzzy.  I finally admitted that now that grunge is over, I kinda did like Salt n Pepa and TLC, and I’m okay with that.

It’s amazing how songs can take you back.  Just last week I heard November Rain on the radio and remembered hanging out with my college dorm-mates one rainy November afternoon listening to that song with the lights off and the window shade all the way up.  Just watching the rain fall in the Quad.  It really wasn’t as cheesy as it sounds, Peeps.  Okay, maybe it was.

Right now, I’m listening to 4 NonBlondes.  OMG, remember them?  Gah.  Love this song.  “And I try… Oh my God, do I try…”  I remember singing that with mock desperation with my friend Sarah over some, um, relaxation aids.  I wonder whatever happened to Sarah.

Those songs were on the soundtrack to my college experience.

Going way back to my childhood, well, those songs would be from Lionel Ritchie, The Bee Gees,  Barbara Streisand, James Taylor, The Beatles, Crosby, Stills, & Nash, Elton John, Carly Simon.  My parent’s favorites, obviously.

My high school tracks would include tunes from New Kids On The Block and Vanilla Ice mixed with INXS and  Depeche Mode.

Post college would include lots of Beastie Boys, Dave Matthews Band and Foo Fighters and dance/club music like “Mr. Vain” or “No Diggity”.

We all have a soundtrack to our lives you know.  What is on yours, Peeps?

2 thoughts on “Soundtrack of my life

  1. I’m not sure what would be on my soundtrack. For most of my adolescence, I referred to myself as “musically illiterate” in that I didn’t know anything about “the music scene.”

    • I can relate. I was never into any “scene” as a youngster either.
      I was a strict pop radio listener until maybe my junior or senior year of high school when my friends got into Depeche Mode and The Cure and Morrisey. Then in college, I had to pretend to be “too cool” for pop music b/c my boyfriend was in a band and we were “above” all that. haha.

Leave a Reply

